The display of contact information in Favorites or on the monitor is dependent on what information the user is allowed to see. To be able to control this, authorizations are necessary.
Additionally to the visibility the authorizations defines the availability of contact related functions which are accessible for the user throu the ActiveContacts
Each user can give other users or contact, who are connected to the system via federation, authorizations on the own contact or phone lines. These authorizations are strongly additive to already given adminitrative rights. You cannot remove already given rights.
Authorizations can be awarded through the context menu of the ActiveContacts (in Favorites or monitor), menu point customize authorizations.
Autorizations apply to contact data of the user and to dynamic informations and functions, which are provided by the estos UCServer. The authorizations on the contact have a fixed definition.
If a user adds a contact to his or her Favorites or in the monitor but was not yet granted permission to do so, the newly added contact will receive a corresponding authorization request.
The dialog shows a list with the current authorization inquiries. Every line contains the name and/or the identity of the contact requesting authorization. One or several contacts can be selected from the list.
Below the list is a drop down menu where the authorization level can be selected. The authorizations are applied for the selected contacts via a click on Apply. These contacts are then immediately placed in the first contact group in Favorites on the main window.
It can be determined that selected contacts will receive no presence information with Reject. This corresponds to the authorization level "Blocked". This definition is applied immediately but the contacts do not appear in Favorites.
If a contact who was blocked should later receive authorization, then the users identity has to be added first via "Add contact..." to the Favorites context menu (or monitor).
The allocation of authorizations can also be carried out via the context menu which can be displayed by right clicking on contacts.Close closes the authorization allocations dialog.
The Favorites or the monitor will be able to view and change the authorizations once granted simply by using the context menu under Authorization Level:....
To revoke authorizations from a contact, this is also done in the context menu with the option Blocked. Thereby the contact receives no status updates or other information like names or e-mail addresses.
If a contact from Favorites / monitor is completely deleted, it can be decided whether the contact is set to Blocked. If this is not desired, the authorization level is completely reset so that a new authorization inquiry can start.
The authorizations which can be given to other users are differentiated in 5 levels:
The overview displays by which authorization level what contact data is transmitted to other users:
|The authorization levels exclusively limit the contact data exchanged via presence information, that is, primarily presence information that is transmitted via Federation. The authorization level does not influence the contact search. Contact data, for example the cell phone number, continues to be visible via a contact search, regardless of the authorization levels.|
|X* In these authorization levels the notice will only be transmitted unrestricted within the users of UCServer. Contacts via Federation receive the notice only if at least the authorization level Team member is allowed in the domain authorizations.|
In estos UCServer further information and functions are available to give authorizations to a contact.
The following definition is valid for standard authorization levels:
|See private appointments||X|
|See public appointments||X||X||X|
|First line*||See outgoing phone numbers||X||X||X|
|See incoming phone numbers||X||X||X|
|Second line*||See outgoing phone numbers||X||X|
|See incoming phone numbers||X||X|
|(*) These authorizations only apply within the estos UCServer service responsible for the user. Federation contacts or contacts from other estos UCServer services will not see this data!|
The administrator is able to allocate authorization levels or single authorizations. In this case, the administratively pre-set authorization levels cannot be minimized anymore. This means that the lowest authorization level "Blocked" cannot be selected anymore for the contacts concerned. This is because the lowest authorization level allocated by the administrator always applies.
|If single authorizations are administratively given instead of authorization levels, the authorization level can only be changed by the administrator.|
|For contacts already authorized by administration settings there will be no authorization inquiry dialog.|